

## Recreation and Parks Advisory Committee Terms of Reference

Members of the Recreation and Parks Advisory Committee will assist in the implementation of the *Cornwall Recreation Master Plan, April 2021*, and advise on recreation and placemaking related projects, programs and policies.

The Recreation Master Plan is a guiding document that provides the City with a forward-thinking public policy framework to successfully manage its parks, open spaces, programs, events, facilities and amenities in a cost-effective manner for the next ten years. Members of this Committee will meet regularly and advise on the implementation of the Recreation Master Plan recommendations, leading to "an overall Parks and Recreation system that satisfies the health, recreation and leisure demands of all segments of the population." (City's Official Plan).

The role of the Recreation and Parks Advisory Committee is to:

- Review current and past Recreation Master Plans;
- Provide input on the implementation of the Recreation Master Plan recommendations;
- Advise on the development and implementation of the City's recreation and placemaking plans, policies and programs, including but not limited to the development of community gardens, revitalization of underutilized public spaces, and the creation of open-air markets and gathering spaces;
- Ensure the alignment of recreation and placemaking initiatives with other Committees of Council objectives (Senior Friendly Committee, Accessibility Committee, Environment and Climate Change Committee, etc.);
- Promote equality, diversity, and inclusivity objectives in recreation and placemaking initiatives;
- Engage with the community on recreation and placemaking initiatives.

## **Composition of the Working Group**

- Two Councillors and six lay persons (voting),
- Manager of Recreation & Facilities and other staff as required (non-voting).

## **Frequency of Meetings**

Meetings will take place every two months, or at the call of the Chair.

## Term

All members selected to sit on the Committee shall hold their seat for the term of Council and shall be appointed by the Lay Appointments Committee.